10 free things to do with kids in Zurich

We get asked very often: are there any free things to do with kids in Zurich? Zurich might be one of the most expensive cities in the world, but it doesn’t have to be. Especially if you have kids, you might want to do great activities with them, but the bill quickly adds up to quite a high sum taking into account the entry fees to a lot of attraction. But having a great day out with your little ones doesn’t have to be expensive. We’ve compiled a great list of free things to do with kids in Zurich – get inspired below.

  1. One of our favourites of free things to do with kids in Zurich is simply to rent a free bicycle with a children’s seat and discover Zurich by bike, this is a great way to get some fresh air, see a whole lot of the city and discover Zurich at your own pace. There are several places around the city where you can pick up free bikes. Check out Züri rollt: free bicycle Link.Zurich Rollt für kinder
  2. In and around Zurich, there are many amazing outdoor playgrounds for your kids to enjoy and for parents to relax. We suggest Josefwiese park and playground – this is a big one and very popular with locals. It has sports facilities and a designated barbecue area – perfect to unwind on a weekend, or even to make some new friends – everyone is very friendly here: Josefwiese Park Link.Josefswiese für Fmilien und Kinder
  3. The Zurich Zoological Museum is free and interesting as well as educating for children. It was opened in 1833 and has a long history and interesting artefacts. Kids will learn about natural history, ancient species like dinosaurs and all kinds of interesting facts: Zoological Museum Zurich Link.Free things to do with kids - Zurich zoological museum on Family First
  4. There is another museum that you can visit for free with your kinds, Helmhaus Zürich is a contemporary art museum that has a very interesting program featuring young Swiss artists. It also has some family and kids free exhibition viewings and workshops: Helmhaus Zurich LinkHelmhaus Zürich auch für Familien und Kinder
  5. Take your kids to one of the free open-air pools in and around Zurich. Our recommendation is the ‘Unterer Letten’ outdoor pool – it’s free and open every day from the morning til late evening. Note that the “Badi” might close early when the weather isn’t right. It`s a great place for families, friends and kids all ages! The place offers all you need for a great Badi experience, it`s easy to reach, it has a nice playground with sliding and slagging, two pools, little cafe, changing rooms and showers. For every kid this is an amazing day out and a great way to cool down in the summer. Unterer Letten Link.Kostenlose Aktivitäten für Kinder in Zürich-badi Unterletten
  6. Every day at 3 pm there are free walking tours in trendy Zurich West. You don’t have to reserve your spot, just turn up on the day that you want to take the tour. The walk lasts about 90 minutes and goes across attractions like Josefwiese, Technopark and Prime Tower. Most tours are in English, so it would be beneficial if your kids understand this language. On some days, there are also tours in other languages – find details here: free walking tours Zurich Link.FREITAG store fur Kinder besuch
  7. This tip is a super unique and fun way to discover the city with kids. You can do interactive audio walks with your children – how interesting is that. These tell creative stories and set your little one’s imagination free. The audio is in Swiss German, so a great way for expat kids to learn the language a little more and also have a great day out. free audio walks for kids Link. Also, there is a free audio tour for kids in the tram line N0.4! Download, put on the headsets and enjoy your free ride: free audio guide for kids in the tram N0.4 LinkKinder Fahrt im Tram Zurich audio tour
  8. An amazing way to have fun yourself while entertaining your kids as well is to go to a painting class at GM Schindlergut. Now, while this is not technically a free thing to do with kids in Zurich, it is super affordable. You only pay 4.- CHF for the course leaders to be able to buy materials. Let’s get creative: Kids painting class Link.Malkurs für kinder gratis
  9. At GZ Bachwiesen kids can help out on a farm and see how the animals live there while being close to them – it’s basically a petting zoo and a great way to get the little ones out in nature to get some fresh air. There is a fee of 2.- CHF, but again this is super affordable and worth it for a day of fun and a unique experience: Kids farm Link.Tiere Stall für Kinder in Zürich
  10. To finish off our list, this is an extra fun activity, this next idea for free things to do with kids is only free if you want it to be: a trip to one of the big toy stores in Zurich Franz Carl Weber. Even if you don’t buy anything, it’s great for your children to just wander around the huge store and gaze at all the toys around. In such a big store, staff certainly don’t mind if your little ones want to try out the occasional toy. There also are some free kids slides at the playground: Franz Carl Weber Zurich LinkAlso drop by Orell Füssli over the street, the famous book store has kids book department packed with colorful books and there are also some for playing for free and it has a nice indoor playground too: Orell Füssli Zurich Link.Franz Carl Weber store zurich

As you can see, you don’t have to spend a fortune to have fun in one of the most expensive cities in the world – actually, you don’t have to spend anything at all to have a great day out with the whole family. We wish you a summer full of fun activities and trips with the kids!

Do you think we have forgotten something? Then please drop us a line on info (at) familyfirst.ch and we will add your tips to our article!

This might be interesting for you too

  • Sorel collaboration on Family First Switzerland

    Mama Blog – with Sorel boots for kids the winter can finally begin now!

    When it comes to winter the only thing you need is a warm jacket and good winter boots. Especially when you spend Christmas with kids in the Alps and like for them to enjoy the mountain slopes to its fullest. Thanks to Sorel boots for kids the winter for us can finally begin! Happy mom is when she knows her kids are… Read more 

  • Family First Switzerland children website and parents website

    Dear parents, Hi from a first time mama blogger…

    Dear parents, This is my first blog entry as a mama blogger for the new city guide for families with kids in Switzerland. I am so excited to announce, today is the day I am launching my project and the Family First Switzerland website. Almost a year ago I've started thinking about creating something, something helpful, colorful, urban, resourceful and sophisticated for… Read more 

  • 2017-03-29_1015

    Mama Blog: kid’ shoes – mix and match for kids and parents

    Every parent and every child has different taste in shoes but when it comes to kid's shoes, comfort is the key. And when you look for fashionable and still comfortable shoes the BucketFeet is probably the best shoe that can match every taste and mix with every style. Good morning 😘 ready for school and her new #bucketfeet Ein Beitrag… Read more 

8 Recommended

10 Kostenlose Aktivitäten für Kinder in Zürich

Wir werden oft gefragt: Gibt es kostenlose Aktivitäten für Kinder in Zürich? Zürich ist zwar eine der teuersten Städte der Welt, muss es aber nicht sein. Schaut man sich die Eintrittspreise für gewisse Attraktionen und Aktivitäten an, so mag man dem bald glauben – die Stadt muss jedoch nicht teuer sein. Es gibt zahlreiche Aktivitäten, die Ihr mit Euren Kids gratis erleben könnt. Auch diese Woche haben wir eine Liste zusammengestellt, die Euch dazu inspirieren soll, Eure Kleinen an die Hand zu nehmen und gemeinsam die Stadt und die Umgebung zu erkunden: Kostenlose Aktivitäten für Kinder in Zürich.

  1. Eine unserer liebsten kostenlosen Aktivitäten für Kinder in Zürich ist es, sich ein Fahrrad mit Kindersitz auszuleihen und mit dem Drahtesel die Stadt und das Umland zu befahren. So sind die Kleinen an der frischen Luft und haben gleichzeitig etwas zu staunen – sind Eure Kinder noch sehr klein, könnt Ihr einfach einen Kindersitz auf den Gepäckträger schnallen und los geht die Fahrt. Durch die Initiative ‘Züri rollt’ könnt Ihr in der Stadt an mehreren Orten gratis Fahrräder ausleihen: Züri rollt Link.Zurich Rollt für kinder
  2. In und um Zürich gibt es viele wunderbare Freiluftspielplätze, auf denen sich die Kids austoben können. Auch für Erwachsene eignen sich diese Areale perfekt zum entspannen. Wir schlagen die Josefwiese vor – der Park inklusive Spielplatz ist auch bei Einheimischen sehr beliebt. Hier gibt es neben einem Beachvolleyballplatz und Tischtennistischen auch einen Grillbereich – perfekt, um an einem Wochenende einen entspannten Familientag zu verbringen und vielleicht neue Bekanntschaften zu machen. In jedem Fall lohnt sich der Ausflug sehr: Josefwiese Link.Josefswiese für Fmilien und Kinder
  3. Das Zoologische Museum Zürich ist immer einen Besuch wert – und gratis! Es wurde 1833 eröffnet und kann auf eine lange Geschichte und interessante Exponate zurückblicken. Kinder lernen hier mehr über die Geschichte der Natur, ausgestorbene Arten wie Dinosaurier und weitere interessante Fakten: Zoologische Museum Zürich Link.Free things to do with kids - Zurich zoological museum on Family First
  4. Das Helmhaus Zürich zeigt zeitgenössische Kunst, hauptsächlich von Schweizer Künstlerinnen und Künstlern oder von Kunstschaffenden, die in der Schweiz leben: Helmhaus Zürich LinkHelmhaus Zürich auch für Familien und Kinder
  5. In und um Zürich gibt es gratis Badeanstalten, sogenannte Badis, in denen jeder willkommen ist, sich im Sommer abzukühlen. Unsere Empfehlung ist das Flussbad Unterer Letten – täglich geöffnet von morgens bis abends (außer bei schlechtem Wetter – in dem Fall schließt das Bad um 11 Uhr). Das Bad ist großartig für Familien, Freunde und Kinder in jedem Alter. Hier gibt es alles, was man von einer tollen Badi erwartet: Es ist einfach zu erreichen, hat einen tollen Spielplatz mit Rutschen, zwei Schwimmbäder, ein kleines Café, Umkleiden und Duschen, dies der perfekte Ort für einen wundervollen Sommertag mit Kindern: Flussbad Unterer Letten Link.Kostenlose Aktivitäten für Kinder in Zürich-badi Unterletten
  6. Fast jeden Tag finden in Zürich verschiedene kostenlose Stadttouren statt, an der jeder ohne Anmeldung teilnehmen kann. Der jeweilige Spaziergang dauert ca. 90 Minuten und führt durch interessante Stadtteile vorbei an unterschiedlichen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Die Führungen finden in verschiedenen Sprachen statt. Informationen und Daten gibt es hier: kostenlose Stadttour Link.FREITAG store fur Kinder besuch
  7. Dieser Tipp ist eine ganz besondere Art, wie Kinder die Stadt besser kennenlernen können: Interaktive Audiotouren – Stadtführung einmal anders! Ladet die Datei auf euer Mobildevice und setzt den Kleinen die Kopfhörer auf und schon kann es losgehen. Die Dateien sind in Schweizerdeutsch gesprochen. Mehr Infos findet Ihr auf der Seite der Audiotouren: Kinderaudiotour Link. Auch im Tram N.4 gibt es ein Kinder-Audio-Guide: Podcast herunterlade, steige ins Tram N.4, setze deine Kopfhörer auf und drücke kurz vor Abfahrt auf dem Player Ihre Station in die richtige Richtung. Los geht’s: Kinder-Audio-Guide LinkKinder Fahrt im Tram Zurich audio tour
  8. Dieser Vorschlag geht an Eltern und Kinder zugleich: bei einem Malkurs im GM Schindlergut haben alle Spaß. Diese Aktivität ist fast gratis, denn es muss nur ein Unkostenbeitrag von 4.00 CHF gezahlt werden, damit die Malschule Materialkosten decken kann: Malkurs Link.Malkurs für kinder gratis
  9. Im GZ Bachwiesen können Kinder auf dem Bauernhof mithelfen, Tiere streicheln und sehen, wie diese auf dem Hof leben. Auch hier wird lediglich ein Unkostenbeitrag von 2.00 CHF erhoben, der sich für diesen wundervollen Ausflug jedoch sehr lohnt. Die Kinder sind an der frischen Luft und sehen etwas, das sie nicht alle Tage erleben. Auch für Eltern spaßig: Kinderbauernhof Link.Tiere Stall für Kinder in Zürich
  10. Zum Ende unserer Liste noch ein ganz besonderer Tipp ist nur dann gratis, wenn Ihr das so wollt: ein Ausflug in eines der großen Spielwarenkaufhäuser Zürichs Franz Carl Weber ist für Kinder auch ein Erlebnis, wenn nichts gekauft wird. In einem Laden dieser Größe werden die Angestellten nichts dagegen haben, wenn Kinder das ein oder andere Spielzeug einmal austesten möchten: Franz Carl Weber Link. Auch einen Besuch wert ist Orell Füssli, der berühmte Buchladen, der eine grosse Kinderbuchabteilung mit bunten Regalen für Gross und Klein hat und dabei es gibt für Kids die Möglichkeit, dort gratis auf einem tollen Indoor-Spielplatz herumzutollen: Orell Füssli Zürich Link.Franz Carl Weber store zurich

Wie ihr seht, muss man in einer der teuersten Städte der Welt wenig bis gar kein Geld ausgeben, um mit der ganzen Familie einen tollen Tag zu erleben. Wir wünschen einen ereignisreichen Sommer!

Denkst du, dass wir etwas vergessen haben? Dann schreib uns bitte unter info(at)familyfirst.ch und wir werden deine Tipps zu unserem Artikel hinzufügen!

 

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

  • Babybroschüre für Eltern Coop Hallo Family

    Mamablog: Babybroschüre für frischgebackene Eltern

    Wenn es darum geht, Rabatt-Coupons zu sammeln, bin ich wahrscheinlich die schlimmste Person, die es gibt. Es fühlt sich so an, als wenn Coupons überall herumfliegen, aber es gibt keine Möglichkeit, dass ich sie richtig organisieren kann, besonders da ich mich nur für diejenigen interessiere, die etwas mit Produkten für Kinder zu tun haben. Aber ich glaube, dass ich besonders… Weiterlesen 

  • Top 10 Märchenpfaden Familien Kinder in der Schweiz auf Family First

    Top 10 fairy tale trails – hiking with kids and families in Switzerland

    Hiking with kids is the number one activity for almost every family in Switzerland: we have gathered the top 10 fairy tale trails for families and kids in Switzerland for you below. Hiking with kids is easy to do with the whole family as trails, there are easy and short trails that can be hiked by everyone even with little… Weiterlesen 

  • Auszeit von Zuhause Checkliste für Mamas

    Wie man sich als Mutter eine kleine Auszeit von Zuhause gönnt

    Könnt ihr euch vorstellen, einfach einmal abzuschalten, von Zuhause, der Arbeit, den Kindern und dem Mann, für eine ganze Woche? Ich hab genau das getan und bin eine Woche nach New York abgedüst und wisst ihr was? Ich habe es so genossen! Ich habe super Essen gekostet, die wohl aufregendsten Straßen erkundet, wundervolle Menschen getroffen und den wohl schlechtesten Kaffee… Weiterlesen